Home » Shop » Shotgun Jimmie » Shotgun Jimmie – Transistor Sister 2

Shotgun Jimmie – Transistor Sister 2


Shotgun Jimmie
Transistor Sister 2
Cat#: YC-039
Released: August 2, 2019
Format: LP/CD/Digital
Clear selection
SKU: N/A Category:

Are you ready for the new sincerity?! Shotgun Jimmie’s new album Transistor Sister 2 is full of genuine pop gems that champion truth and love. Jimmie is joined by long-time collaborators Ryan Peters (Ladyhawk) and Jason Baird (DoMakeSayThink) for this sequel to the Polaris Prize nominated album Transistor Sister from 2011. José Contreras (By Divine Right) produced and recorded the record in Toronto, Ontario at The Chat Chateaux and joins the band on keys.

In characteristic Shotgun Jimmie fashion, the songs on Transistor Sister 2 focus largely on family and friends with a heavy dose of nostalgia. Jimmie’s hyperbolic takes on the everyday reconstruct familiar scenarios, from traffic on the 401 (the beloved and scorned mega-highway through Toronto known to all touring musicians as the place where punctual arrival at soundcheck goes to die) to cooking dinner.

The album’s lead single Cool All the Time is a plea for people to abandon ego and strive for authenticity, featuring contributions by Chad VanGaalen, Steven Lambke and Cole Woods. The New Sincerity serves as the album’s manifesto; it renounces cynicism and promotes positivity.

“I decided to make a sequel because I loved making the first one. I value the experience of making records as much as the end product. I know that I’m always trying to make something good, but I’m also aware that the process is the thing that I’ll think about and revisit in the future. With this album, I really wanted to recreate the immersive experience of making the original. The first one was recorded in Nova Scotia in a beautiful little town. The session had the feeling of a destination artist residency. We swam in the ocean and watched scientists cut the head off a shark; they were very eventful days. Maybe I also wanted an excuse to hang out with Jay and Ryan for a week. The three of us are spread out across the country, so being together is a rare treat. On the last day of the session we played a rock show at a tiny Toronto club. We literally went straight from the studio to the venue. It was completely packed with pals from all over; it was the best! I played the first Transistor Sister acoustic, then the full band performed Transistor Sister 2 from top to bottom. The show provided our session a very hard deadline and was probably the cause of some studio stress, but it was a perfect magical ending to the week.”

Track Listing
  1. Blues Riffs
  2. Tumbleweed
  3. Hot Pots
  4. Ablutions
  5. Fountain
  6. Suddenly Submarine
  7. Piano (with band)
  8. The New Sincerity
  9. Cool All The Time
  10. Sappy Slogans
  11. Highway 401
  12. Jack Pine
  13. Sorry We’re Closed
  • Shotgun Jimmie: Vocals, Guitar and Harmonica
  • Jason Baird: Bass Guitar, Saxophone and Flute
  • Ryan Peters: Drums, Vocals, Piano, and Auxiliary Percussion
  • José Miguel Contreras: Ace Tone Organ and Vocals
  • Steven lambke: Wurlitzer Piano
  • Cole Woods: Moog Prodigy Synthesizer
  • Aaron Goldstein: Pedal Steel Guitar
  • Chad VanGaalen: Vocals and Tambouring (Cool All The Time)
  • Recorded and Mixed by José Miguel Contreras at the Chat Chateau
  • Mastered by Harris Newman at Grey Market Mastering
  • Artwork & Design by Paul Henderson
  • Produced by José Miguel Contreras