Home » Shop » Daniel Romano » Daniel Romano’s Outfit – Too Hot To Sleep

Daniel Romano’s Outfit – Too Hot To Sleep


Daniel Romano's Outfit
Too Hot To Sleep
Cat#: YC-062
Released: March 1, 2024
Format: LP/CD/Digital
Clear selection
SKU: N/A Category:

Can you describe your song-writing process?

DR: In order to bring about the good song there is a certain amount of magic to be summoned. Though there are a variety of ways to achieve it, allow me now to break down one of my favourite methods: Without food, take to your post with the hungry wonder of the morning. Getting down to it, allow everything to begin slowly– thought, breath, moment– until you’re buried, little by little in a celestial blackness where all common ideas dissolve into ash and all that didn’t serve you is gone. It’s in this original darkness that the virtues of your heart begin to ignite.

Come hither dialecticians! Come into the darkness to discover light! Creativity is technique, study, and process, and above all, a commitment, to the self and the self’s relationship to the world. So, too it is an opening, or the result of an opening, to the gifts the world and the world cosmos bring. One conceives as one receives. Magic, yes, but magic summoned actively.

Daniel Romano has been busy. Count the many hungry mornings at the post. Since the release of the massive, singular, La Luna in those long ago days of autumn 2022, full brilliant albums have been made and set aside (maybe two, maybe more), vast landscapes have been crossed and re-crossed, the maps redrawn, songs remade nightly with passion and gusto.

Now here, in the depths of northern winter, arrives Too Hot To Sleep, simultaneously a transcendent document of the spirit, and a swaggering, street level blast of power-pop and Stone’s derived rock ‘n’ roll; a surprisingly direct shout down of the corrupt politicians and techno fascists that police our bodies, pollute our world, assault our connections; a reason and occasion to dance, to sweat together at one of The Outfit’s legendary live shows wherein everything comes faster than the next, no breaks, no outside, there is only now, there is only all of us here together, alive. A public offering of each to each.

Count the many hungry mornings. Count the many and the one. Here the rock band is a self-contained creative unit: making music, design, art, and film. Making image and sound at its most primal, immediate, and sophisticated. A synthesis of influences from in and out of time. See the videos the band has created, for Field Of Ruins (wigs and costumes), Chatter (props and close-ups), Where’s Paradise (skateboarding and landscape), State Of Nature (symbol and story). See the icons and emblems emblazoned on T-shirts and jackets, secret signs for those who know, declarations of membership and understanding. Hear the blend of voices in service of the song.

See the darkened barroom. The stage lights rise. Here we are, together, go!

Track Listing
  • You can steal my kiss
  • Where's paradise?
  • State of nature
  • All of thee above
  • That's too rich
  • Chatter
  • Field of ruins
  • You saw me in sunshine
  • Too hot to sleep
  • Generation end
  • Recorded by Daniel Romano and Ian Romano and Engineered by Kenneth Roy Meehan at Camera Varda.
  • Mixed by Daniel Romano with Ian Romano.
  • Mastered by Kristian Montano.
  • Artwork and layout by Daniel Romano.
  • Additional recording by Daniel Romano, Ian Romano, Carson McHone and Shannon McGrath.
  • Performed by: Daniel Romano, Ian Romano, Carson McHone, Julianna Riolino and Roddy Rossetti
  • Music composed by Daniel Romano and Ian Romano.
  • Lyrics written by Daniel Romano