Home » Shop » Partner » Partner – Never Give Up

Partner – Never Give Up


Never Give Up
Cat#: YC-046
Released: November 20, 2020
Format: LP/CD/Digital
Clear selection
SKU: N/A Category:

PLEASE NOTE: The Partner 3-Pack is a special offer that includes the full-length albums Never Give Up and In Search Of Lost Time, and the EP Saturday the 14th in your chosen format!


Never Give Up is Partner’s second full-length album, following 2017’s In Search of Lost Time. In the years since their first release, the band has developed their “post classic rock” sound, leaving behind 90s rock comparisons. The new album retains elements that will be familiar to Partner fans, such as guitar solos and humorous subject matter, but with more structurally adventurous songs and abstract lyrics. They have spent the last several years on tour with drummer Simone TB, and this is evident in the looser and more confident performances captured on the album. Never Give Up was recorded by Steve Chaley at Palace Sound in the summer of 2019.

The band described the process of making the album. “In October of 2019 we found ourselves in a dark and quiet rehearsal space. We were practicing for a two person show, the first one we had played in many years. We were at a crossroads as a band, and we had no idea what the future held. All we knew was that we were going to be making music together. We weren’t sure what this music would sound like or who would be playing it with us. And then the songs started to arrive. Some of them fully formed, like the first songs we wrote. It was as much a surprise to us as anyone else when we realized we had the beginnings of our second album.”

Not all the songs came so easily. Some took over a year to complete. Some taunted the band with their elusivity. Some forced Partner to rip them apart and build them back together more than once. Never Give Up was written in rehearsal spaces, in the band’s bedrooms, in a condo, in friends’ and strangers’ houses, Air BnBs, in a cafe and on Josee’s couch and in the studio, and in the booth. “We talked. We were honest with each other and honest with ourselves. Sometimes it was a lot. And when it got to be almost too much we would repeat to each other, first as a joke and then not as a joke at all, “never give up”.”

Track Listing
  1. Hello And Welcome
  2. Rock Is My Rock
  3. The Pit
  4. Honey
  5. Big Gay Hands
  6. Good Place To Hide (At The Time)
  7. Roller Coasters (Life Is One)
  8. Couldn't Forget
  9. Here I Am World
  10. Crocodiles
  • Guitar & Vocals by Josée Caron
  • Bass, Vocals & Keyboard by Lucy Niles
  • Drums & Percussion by Simone TB
  • Written & Produced by Partner
  • Engineered by Steve Chahley
  • Recorded at Palace Sound
  • Additional Engineering & Overdubs by Katie Wayne
  • Mixed by Chris Shaw
  • Mastered by Joao Carvlho
  • Original Artwork by Paule Guilmain-Langlier
  • Layout by Josée Caron & Paul Henderson